Life with Twins: Yes, Every Day is an Instant Playdate

Play, especially when self-directed, is not only natural — it is vital for our children’s emotional health. Through play babies naturally develop physical and cognitive skills, stretch their imaginations, flex creative muscles, build resiliency and a strong sense of self.

The quote above is from the article “Baby, You Are Born To Play” by Janet Lansbury, a proponent of RIE parenting. I can’t say I’m a full on RIE parent (actually I feel iffy attaching any label to my parenting, such as it is; I sort of do a little of this and a little of that style I guess), but a lot of the stuff I’ve read about RIE make sense to me. I’m not equipped enough to adequately describe what RIE parenting is all about (for that, you can check out this link), but letting kids enjoy uninterrupted, self-directed play is one of its principles.

I used to feel guilty for not spending a lot of time doing “activities” with my twins, but now I can just say, hey, RIE parenting! Ok, just kidding. There is RIE parenting and there is distracted parenting, which goodness knows is also one of the things I can be guilty of.

In any case, because they are now full-fledged toddlers, the twins have become increasingly adept at entertaining each other. As long as they know that I’m around, I can more or less just stay in one spot and let them do their own thing. Once in a while they’ll come up to me and sort of check in, tell me what they’re doing or ask for my help in something, then off they go again. They do pretend play, horse play, throw-everything-within-reach play, run-around-giggling play–whatever strikes their fancy. And should one twin happen to be asleep, the awake one is also capable of playing by herself. We’re still a long way to the point where I can actually work on my computer for long stretches while they play, but we’re also a long way off from when they needed to be entertained or held all the time.

Twins are definitely high-maintenance, especially in the infant days, but at this stage, the fact that they have each other is just all sorts of awesome. Here’s a short video that shows some of those awesome moments. Hope it brings a smile to your face 🙂

26 thoughts on “Life with Twins: Yes, Every Day is an Instant Playdate

    • oh my twins fight a lot too, and I let them, ha ha! well, as long as they’re not physically hurting each other of course. it’s ok daw to let kids sort out their conflicts by themselves. I offer guidance or suggestions sometimes, but there are also times when I just watch and they resolve their conflicts by themselves. at two years old, not bad!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. That’s such a good quote, and it’s not far from the truth! Actually, I learned that everyday is a playdate not only with twins – everyday is a playdate with mom and dad!

    Like

    • yay, your friend is in for one heck of a ride! she can also join the FB group called Mothers of Multiples by LATCH, especially if she’s interested in breastfeeding her twins 🙂

      Like

Got anything to add? Let's chat!