On toddler painting, exploration, and works in progress

I don’t know why I didn’t insist on taping the paper to the table during finger painting before (probably because the tape was always missing) but I’m glad I started doing it now. Today, actually. This way, I no longer have to worry about the twins making a few swipes of paint on the paper and then crumpling it up or dropping it on the floor, again and again.

Instead, I can focus on getting them to paint at all. As usual, they were a bit hesitant to touch the paint, especially Ulap, so I let them have a crack at using a paint brush for the first time.

Dahon took to the brush easily enough, making some experimental swishes and gamely following my encouragement to try a variety of colors. Ulap, on the other hand, just watched what was going on and didn’t even want to get her brush messed up at first. I think I ended up using her brush a lot more than she did!

first try at using a paint brush

first try at using a paint brush

A few squirts of shaving cream brought some giggles, but nope, they didn’t like touching that either.

sunlight, bright colors, and foam. love it!

sunlight, bright colors, and foam. love it!

After a while, Ulap wanted to wash her hands, so of course when I brought out the water, Dahon also abandoned the painting table and moved on to water play. Yep, it’s another one of those days when they spent more time on washing up than on the actual activity. Come on, kiddos, how often do we have to do this before you’re okay with it? Or, more to the point, how often should I try before deciding that they may be better suited to other types of activities? They seem to like scribbling with chalk, crayons and markers well enough, it’s just the messy play/art that they’re not so much into. However, they don’t seem to mind making a mess with food. It’s crazy unpredictable, which I suppose just means that yup, I’m living in toddler world.

painting abandoned and on to water play

painting abandoned and on to water play

Still, it was all right, because I had another thing to look forward to. Hidden in that painted mess, on the lower right hand corner of the table, were three heart-shaped masking tape pieces pasted onto the paper. My first experiment with tape resist art effect!

I went back to the table this afternoon when all the paint has dried up and peeled off the tape to reveal this.

tape resist heart! yeah, I went there.

tape resist heart! yeah, I went there.

Neat enough, right?

on the fridge

on the fridge

So yeah, the framing and presentation and the brilliance of the colors for that matter could do a lot of work but at least this gives me ideas for the next time. Work in progress, folks, work in progress. Just like my toddlers’ affinity for painting and messy play. In the meantime, there are colors, sunshine, bubbles, and hearts. Can’t complain, really. 🙂

4 thoughts on “On toddler painting, exploration, and works in progress

  1. Love this! I’m buying materials today for my son’s first try at painting 🙂 I wasn’t planning on taping the paper onto the table/floor but I am now! The tape resist turned out really well 🙂 What kind of tape was that? And by the way, love your kids’ names!

    Like

Got anything to add? Let's chat!

